Champions League final stadium 2023 capacity, city and history ahead of UCL title match
Champions League final stadium 2023 capacity, city and history ahead of UCL title match
Champions League final stadium 2023: Size, city and history of Istanbul venue

The Champions League final is the showpiece match in European football, pitting together two continental heavyweights bidding to get their hands on one of the most famous trophies in sport.

The 2022/23 final makes an exciting return to Istanbul, on the stage where Rafael Benitez's Liverpool's pulled off an incredible Champions League final comeback to beat Carlo Ancelotti's AC Milan in 2005.

Liverpool will not be in the 2023 final, despite finishing as runners-up to Real Madrid last time around, but Inter Milan have made it through to their first final since 2010.

A trip to Turkey will be a challenge for fans travelling from the other side of Europe, but it will be viewed as worthwhile if their team can secure glory.

MORE: Who will win Champions League 2022/23?

Where is the 2023 Champions League final?

The final takes place on June 10 at Istanbul's Atatürk Olympic Stadium, which is currently home to FC Karagümrük and the Turkey national team.

UEFA have confirmed fan tickets will be made available after the semi-finals are completed from May 18 onwards, with team allocations expected to be around 20,000 each.

2023 Champions League final stadium capacity

Following a stadium renovation in 2020, the Atatürk Olympic Stadium is now estimated to have a seated capacity of 76,092.

Has Istanbul hosted previous Champions League finals?

The 2005 final has entered into Champions League folklore, with Liverpool's comeback from 3-0 down to draw level before prevailing on penalties labelled the 'Miracle of Istanbul' — it was the city's first hosting of the showpiece contest.

Jerzy Dudek's spot-kick antics sealed the trophy as Reds captain Steven Gerrard was named as man of the match, and Ancelotti lost out at the Atatürk Olympic Stadium.

Jerzy Dudek after the 2005 Champions League Final.

— Sky Sports Retro (@SkySportsRetro) September 15, 2021

The stadium was due to host the 2019/20 final, between Paris Saint-Germain and Bayern Munich, but UEFA changed venue due to a rise in Covid-19 cases in the country in the build-up to the final.

UEFA initially agreed to postpone Istanbul's hosting until the following season, but renewed concerns over Covid-19 cases and legislation on public gatherings, forced a late switch.

After being replaced by Benfica's Estadio da Luz in 2020, and Porto's Estadio de Dragao in 2021, the Atatürk Olympic Stadium was formally confirmed as the 2023 final host for just the second time in its history.

Champions League final hosts

With Istanbul on hosting duty in 2023, UEFA have already confirmed details for the next two finals, with Wembley Stadium in London hosting the 2024 showpiece, and Munich's Allianz Arena tasked with staging the 2025 final.

Year Stadium Match
2025 Allianz Arena TBC
2024 Wembley Stadium TBC
2023 Ataturk Olympic Stadium TBC
2022 Stade de France Real Madrid 1-0 Liverpool
2021 Estadio do Dragao Chelsea 1-0 Manchester City
2020 Estadio da Luz Bayern Munich 1-0 Paris Saint-Germain
2019 Wanda Metropolitano Liverpool 2-0 Tottenham Hotspur
2018 NSC Olimpiyskiy Real Madrid 3-1 Liverpool
2017 Millennium Stadium Real Madrid 4-1 Juventus
2016 San Siro Real Madrid 1-1 Atletico Madrid
2015 Olympiastadion Berlin Barcelona 3-1 Juventus
2014 Estadio da Luz Real Madrid 4-1 Atletico Madrid
2013 Wembley Stadium Bayern Munich 2-1 Borussia Dortmund
2012 Allianz Arena Chelsea 1-1 Bayern Munich
2011 Wembley Stadium Barcelona 3-1 Manchester United
2010 Estadio Santiago Bernabeu Inter Milan 2-0 Bayern Munich
2009 Stadio Olimpico Barcelona 2-0 Manchester United
2008 Luzhniki Stadium Manchester United 0-0 Chelsea
2007 OAKA Stadium AC Milan 2-1 Liverpool
2006 Stade de France Barcelona 2-1 Arsenal
2005 Ataturk Olympic Stadium Liverpool 3-3 AC Milan
2004 Arena AufSchalke Porto 3-0 Monaco
2003 Old Trafford AC Milan 0-0 Juventus
2002 Hampden Park Real Madrid 3-0 Valencia
2001 San Siro Bayern Munich 1-1 Valencia
2000 Stade de France Real Madrid 3-0 Valencia
1999 Camp Nou Manchester United 2-1 Bayern Munich
1998 Amsterdam ArenA Real Madrid 1-0 Juventus
1997 Olympiastadion Munich Borussia Dortmund 3-1 Juventus
1996 Stadio Olimpico Juventus 1-1 Ajax
1995 Ernst Happel Stadion Ajax 1-0 AC Milan
1994 OAKA Stadium AC Milan 4-0 Barcelona
1993 Olympiastadion Munich Olympique Marseille 1-0 AC Milan
1992 Wembley Stadium Barcelona 1-0 Sampdoria
1991 Stadio San Nicola Red Star 0-0 Olympique Marseille
1990 Prater Stadion AC Milan 1-0 SL Benfica
1989 Camp Nou AC Milan 4-0 Steaua Bucharest
1988 Neckarstadion PSV 0-0 Benfica
1987 Prater Stadion Porto 2-1 Bayern Munich
1986 Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan Steaua Bucharest 0-0 Barcelona
1985 Heysel Stadium Juventus 1-0 Liverpool
1984 Stadio Olimpico Liverpool 1-1 Roma
1983 OAKA Stadium Hamburg 1-0 Juventus
1982 De Kuip Aston Villa 1-0 Bayern Munich
1981 Parc des Princes Liverpool 1-0 Real Madrid
1980 Estadio Santiago Bernabeu Nottingham Forest 1-0 Hamburg
1979 Olympiastadion Munich Nottingham Forest 1-0 Malmo
1978 Wembley Stadium Liverpool 1-0 Club Brugge
1977 Stadio Olimpico Liverpool 3-1 Borussia Monchengladbach
1976 Hampden Park Bayern Munich 1-0 Saint-Etienne
1975 Parc des Princes Bayern Munich 2-0 Leeds United
1974 Heysel Stadium Bayern Munich 1-1 Atletico Madrid
1973 Stadion Crvena Zvezda Ajax 1-0 Juventus
1972 De Kuip Ajax 2-0 Inter Milan
1971 Wembley Stadium Ajax 2-0 Panathinaikos
1970 San Siro Feyenoord 2-1 Celtic
1969 Estadio Santiago Bernabeu AC Milan 4-1 Ajax
1968 Wembley Stadium Manchester United 4-1 Benfica
1967 Estadio Nacional Celtic 2-1 Inter Milan
1966 Heysel Stadium Real Madrid 2-1 Partizan
1965 San Siro Inter Milan 1-0 Benfica
1964 Prater Stadion Inter Milan 3-1 Real Madrid
1963 Wembley Stadium AC Milan 2-1 Benfica
1962 Olympisch Stadion Benfica 5-3 Real Madrid
1961 Wankdorfstadion Benfica 3-2 Barcelona
1960 Hampden Park Real Madrid 7-3 Eintracht Frankfurt
1959 Neckarstadion Real Madrid 2-0 Stade de Reims
1958 Heysel Stadium Real Madrid 3-2 AC Milan
1957 Estadio Santiago Bernabeu Real Madrid 2-0 Fiorentina
1956 Stade Velodrome Paris Real Madrid 4-3 Stade de Reims

What's your reaction?


0 comment

Write the first comment for this!

Facebook Conversations

Disqus Conversations