How much is the Championship playoff final worth? Prize money for promotion as Luton Town prepare to face Coventry City
How much is the Championship playoff final worth? Prize money for promotion as Luton Town prepare to face Coventry City
How much is the Championship playoff final worth?

Luton Town and Coventry City are set to put it all on the line as they look to win the EFL Championship playoff final and secure promotion to the Premier League.

Coventry have not been in the Premier League since the 2000/01 season. They beat Middlesbrough in the semi-final to reach this stage, despite finishing below them in the regular season.

Luton missed out on competing in the first Premier League season after top-flight relegation in 1991/92 and they have not returned to the top tier since. They beat Sunderland to reach the Wembley showpiece. Both finalists were in League Two in 2018, showing their remarkable journey to this point.

The Sporting News looks at the funds that come with winning the Championship playoffs.

MORE: Coventry City's history in the Premier League ahead of 2023 playoff final

How much is the Championship playoff final worth?

Due to the final incentives on offer for the winner, the Championship playoff final is often called the 'richest game in football'. Although the money does not come all at once, it can be a huge boost for the promoted side.

Most of the financial gain comes from TV rights, sponsorship deals and new opportunities that transpire from becoming a Premier League club. With the league generating so much cash from TV revenue, even the team who finish last are guaranteed £100million ($125m). 

Figures from Deloitte, who analysed the 2020 playoff final between Fulham and Brentford, estimated that a club could earn between £135m to £265m ($170m to $333m) more in revenue by winning the final. This figure is dependent on non-TV agreements.

What are Premier League parachute payments?

To help teams who get relegated to the Championship adjust to the lower revenue streams, the Premier League offer clubs parachute payments.

These could last up to three years for each side, depending on how long they spent in the Premier League, and is said to be worth close to £30m per year to clubs on average over the past few seasons.

The EFL want to abolish the payments in order to distribute more money further down the English football pyramid, but the Premier League argues it helps clubs be competitive once achieving promotion.

MORE: Premier League promotion odds for 2023 Championship playoffs

Which teams have been promoted to the Premier League via the playoffs?

Nottingham Forest were last team to earn promotion to the Premier League through the playoffs, and they have secured their status in the competition for another season.

Swindon Town were the first side to win the Championship playoffs following the inaugural season of the Premier League. West Ham have won the final twice since 2000, including the 2012 edition.

Season First place Second place Playoff winner
1992/93 Newcastle United West Ham United Swindon Town
1993/94 Crystal Palace Nottingham Forest Leicester City
1994/95 Middlesbrough Reading Bolton Wanderers
1995/96 Sunderland Derby County  Leicester City
1996/97 Bolton Wanderers Barnsley Crystal Palace
1997/98 Nottingham Forest Middlesbrough Charlton Athletic
1998/99 Sunderland Bradford City Watford
1999/2000 Charlton Athletic Manchester City Ipswich Town
2000/01 Fulham Blackburn Rovers Bolton Wanderers
2001/02 Manchester City West Brom Birmingham City
2002/03 Portsmouth Leicester City Wolves
2003/04 Norwich City West Brom Crystal Palace
2004/05 Sunderland Wigan Athletic West Ham United
2005/06 Reading Sheffield United Watford 
2006/07 Sunderland Birmingham City Derby County
2007/08 West Brom Stoke City Hull City
2008/09 Wolves Birmingham City Burnley
2009/10 Newcastle West Brom Blackpool
2010/11 QPR Norwich City Swansea City
2011/12 Reading Southampton West Ham United
2012/13 Cardiff City Hull City Crystal Palace
2013/14 Leicester City Burnley QPR
2014/15 Bournemouth Watford Norwich City
2015/16 Burnley Middlesbrough Hull City
2016/17 Newcastle Brighton & Hove Albion Huddersfield Town
2017/18 Wolves Cardiff City Fulham
2018/19 Norwich City Sheffield United Aston Villa
2019/20 Leeds United West Brom Fulham
2020/21 Norwich City Watford Brentford
2021/22 Fulham Bournemouth Nottingham Forest

What's your reaction?


0 comment

Write the first comment for this!

Facebook Conversations

Disqus Conversations