Man City history: Story behind 2023 Champions League finalists, trophies, titles, takeover and best eras
Man City history: Story behind 2023 Champions League finalists, trophies, titles, takeover and best eras
Man City history: Story behind 2023 Champions League finalists

Manchester City face a defining game in their history as they take on Inter Milan in the 2022/23 Champions League final.

City fans are hoping for history in Istanbul, and a first-ever Champions League title, as part of their incredible rise in recent seasons.

The long suffering City faithful are enjoying a period of dominance unlike at any other point in their club history with Pep Guardiola the key driving force.

After decades in the shadow of arch rivals Manchester United, City have developed into a global superpower, able to challenge any team in world football.

The Sporting News looks at the club's history and defining moments of the Manchester club.

MORE: How many trophies have Man City won in 2023? Guardiola's squad could win treble with Champions League triumph

Man City titles, trophies, club honours

Manchester City boast an impressive trophy cabinet that consists of seven Premier League titles, seven FA Cups and eight League Cups.

Football League/Premier League Champions: Nine

1936/37, 1967/68, 2011/12, 2013/14, 2017/18, 2018/19, 2020/21, 2021/22, 2022/23

FA Cup Winners: Seven

1903/04, 1933/34, 1955/56, 1968/69, 2010/11, 2018/19, 2022/23

League Cup Winners: Eight

1969/70, 1975/76, 2013/14, 2015/16, 2017/18, 2018/19, 2019/20, 2020/21

FA Community/Charity Shield Winners: Six 

1937/38, 1968/69, 1972/73, 2012/13, 2018/19, 2019/20

European Cup Winners' Cup: One


Some of our very 𝒃𝒆𝒔𝒕 #UCL goals from over the years! ✨

— Manchester City (@ManCity) June 9, 2023

When were Man City formed?

Man City's history dates back to their formation in 1880 by members of the St. Mark's Church of England in Manchester area of West Gorton.

Man City vs Man United rivalry

A fierce Mancunian rivalry with Manchester United is a huge part of City's history with the two teams battling it out for over a century across domestic action.

City's 2023 FA Cup final win over United continued their recent progress in catching up to the Red Devils in their head-to-head record with the current tally across all competitions set at 190 all-time meetings, with 78 wins for United, 59 for City, and 53 draws.

Colin Bell era

City's main period of consistent trophy wins, prior to the current picture at the Etihad Stadium, came in the late 1960s.

Joe Mercer's side emerged from the Second Division on a wave of positivity, before going on to win the 1968 First Division (top-flight) title, beating United by two points in the title race.

However, the most memorable moment of the Mercer era came via the 1969 FA Cup final, as Neil Young's goal secured a 1-0 win over Leicester City at Wembley.

That trophy win brought together the best of Mercer players across that period including mercurial duo Colin Bell and Francis Lee.

In total Bell made 498 appearances for Manchester City scoring a total of 153 goals and is widely regarded as one of their greatest ever players.

2008 takeover

City bounced between the Premier League and the First Division from 1992 in the early 2000s before the 2008 Abu Dhabi backed takeover transformed the club overnight.

The immediate signing of Robinho proved to be an oversight by the club, but it showed their new-found ability to sign world class stars, and challenge the Premier League elite.

The growth from a mid-table/relegation battling team was rapid, as Roberto Mancini's appointment edged them up the table, and on towards an FA Cup win in 2011.

A fourth full season under the new ownership was capped in memorable style, as Sergio Aguero's iconic winner snatched the Premier League title in 2012, and set City on course to dominate.

— Manchester City (@ManCity) November 3, 2017

Guardiola's giants

Mancini's breakthrough was built on by another Premier League title, under Manuel Pellegrini, but Guardiola's arrival in Manchester 2016 took City to a new level.

After finishing third in his first season, Guardiola has won five of the following six Premier League titles, only interrupted by Liverpool in 2020.

That consistent success is only mirrored by United in the Premier League era as Guardiola has turned City from a team that can win titles into a team that is expected to win them.

The Catalan's obsessive nature means he will not be happy until he wins another Champions League but his domestic record is superb.

What's your reaction?


0 comment

Write the first comment for this!

Facebook Conversations

Disqus Conversations