When can Erling Haaland break Premier League goal record? Man City remaining matches to pass Alan Shearer, Andy Cole.
When can Erling Haaland break Premier League goal record? Man City remaining matches to pass Alan Shearer, Andy Cole.
When can Erling Haaland break Premier League goal record?

Erling Haaland's demolition of the Premier League has kept Manchester City in the running for a potential treble at the end of the 2022/23 campaign.

The Norwegian international has enjoyed a sensational start to life in English football with 49 goals scored across all competitions.

Haaland shows no signs of slowing down in the final weeks of the season with the former Borussia Dortmund hotshot in line to smash some key records.

The 22-year-old is a certainty to win the Premier League Golden Boot award and he is set to break new ground in the process.

MORE: Has Pep Guardiola banned Man City treble talk? Silva and De Bruyne explain secret to beating Arsenal

When can Haaland break Premier League goal record?

With seven Premier League matches left for City, Haaland could break the Premier League with several games to spare during the run-in.

Haaland has netted 33 Premier League goals, in 29 appearances, with at least one goal scored in his last five Premier League games, ahead of facing Fulham on April 30.

Only three players in English top-flight history have scored 50 goals across all competitions in a single season:

◉ Dixie Dean (63, 1927/28)
◉ Vic Watson (50, 1929/30)
◉ Tom Waring (50, 1930/31)

Erling Haaland is one goal away from joining an exclusive club. 🤖 pic.twitter.com/PZ9INeSjg1

— Squawka (@Squawka) April 28, 2023

The current Premier League goal record for a single season stands at 34, and based on Haaland's rate of 1.14 goals per Premier League game, he will not only set a new benchmark, but he could potentially score more than 40 Premier League goals.

How many goals does Haaland need to break Premier League record?

Haaland has already broken the Premier League record for a 38-game season, with Liverpool star Mo Salah scoring 32 Premier League goals in 2017/18.

However, the overall record for a single Premier League season is 34, jointly held by Alan Shearer and Andrew Cole, when the Premier League was a 22-team competition, with 42 games played each season rather than the current 38.

Cole managed his total with Newcastle United in 1993/94, prior to moving on to Manchester United, with Shearer firing Blackburn Rovers to their sole Premier League title in the following campaign.

Two more goals will see Haaland break record for Premier League goal scoring that has stood for 28 years.

If he does not get those two goals against Fulham on Sunday, Man City have home matches against West Ham and Leeds next week where the record would be up for grabs.

Premier League goal record in single season

Haaland's exploits look set to end with a new record in Premier League single season goal scoring, with Salah surpassed, and Cole and Shearer in his sights.

Year Player Team Goals
2021-22 Son Heung-min Tottenham Hotspur 23
  Mohamed Salah Liverpool 23
2020-21 Harry Kane Tottenham Hotspur 23
2019-20 Jamie Vardy Leicester City 23
2018-19 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Arsenal 22
  Sadio Mane Liverpool 22
  Mohamed Salah Liverpool 22
2017-18 Mohamed Salah Liverpool 32
2016-17 Harry Kane Tottenham Hotspur 29
2015-16 Harry Kane Tottenham Hotspur 25
2014-15 Sergio Aguero Manchester City 26
2013-14 Luis Suarez Liverpool 31
2012-13 Robin Van Persie Arsenal 26
2011-12 Robin Van Persie Arsenal 30
2010-11 Dimitar Berbatov Manchester United 20
  Carlos Tevez Manchester City 20
2009-10 Didier Drogba Chelsea 29
2008-09 Nicolas Anelka Chelsea 19
2007-08 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United 31
2006-07 Didier Drogba Chelsea 20
2005-06 Thierry Henry Arsenal 27
2004-05 Thierry Henry Arsenal 25
2003-04 Thierry Henry Arsenal 30
2002-03 Ruud van Nistelrooy Manchester United 25
2001-02 Thierry Henry Arsenal 24
2000-01 Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink Chelsea 23
1999-00 Kevin Phillips Sunderland 30
1998-99 Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink Leeds United 18
  Michael Owen Liverpool 18
  Dwight Yorke Manchester United 18
1997-98 Dion Dublin Coventry City 18
  Michael Owen Liverpool 18
  Chris Sutton Blackburn Rovers 18
1996-97 Alan Shearer Newcastle United 25
1995-96 Alan Shearer Blackburn Rovers 31
1994-95 Alan Shearer Blackburn Rovers 34
1993-94 Andy Cole Newcastle United 34
1992-93 Teddy Sheringham N. Forest / Tottenham 22

What's your reaction?



0 comment

Write the first comment for this!

Facebook Conversations

Disqus Conversations