Who is in EFL Championship promotion playoff final 2023? Luton Town await Middlesbrough vs Coventry winner
Who is in EFL Championship promotion playoff final 2023? Luton Town await Middlesbrough vs Coventry winner
Who is in EFL Championship final? Teams in promotion playoff showdown

The battle for the final Premier League place for the 2023/24 season will be settled by the 2022/23 EFL Championship promotion playoff final on Saturday, May 27.

On the back of a grueling 46-game regular season, Burnley and Sheffield United sealed the two automatic Premier League promotion spots, as champions and runners-up, respectively.

They will be joined by the winner of the playoff final, pitting the two semifinal winners against each other, for the ultimate prize of reaching the Premier League promised land. 

Luton Town have reached the final after getting past Sunderland 3-2 on aggregate, and they will await the winner of the Middlesbrough vs. Coventry City semi-final series.

Only one team will be celebrating a top-flight campaign in 2023/24.

MORE: Burnley and Sheffield United secure Premier League promotion

EFL Championship playoff semi final results

The EFL Championship playoffs semifinals are played over two legs, with the Championship's 3rd place team (Luton Town) against the 6th place side (Sunderland) and 4th (Middlesbrough) facing 5th (Coventry City).

Luton Town vs Sunderland (Play-off semi final)

Matches Date Results
Leg 1: Sunderland vs. Luton Town Sat, May 13 2-1
Leg 2: Luton Town vs. Sunderland Tue, May 16 2-0

Luton Town advance to Championship final 3-2 on aggregate.

Middlesbrough vs Coventry City (Play-off semi final)

Matches Date Kickoff Time
Leg 1: Coventry vs. Middlesbrough Sun, May 14 0-0
Leg 2: Middlesbrough vs. Coventry Wed, May 17 8 p.m. / 3 p.m.

The teams are level 0-0 on aggregate after the 1st leg.

Who is playing in the EFL Championship playoff final?

The playoff semifinals will confirm the two finalists at Wembley with Luton Town taking on the winner of Middlesbrough vs. Coventry City for Premier League promotion.

Match Date Kickoff Time
Luton Town vs.
Middlesbrough / Coventry City
Sat, May 27, 2023 4:45 p.m. / 11:45 a.m.

When is the 2022/23 EFL Championship playoff final?

The EFL have confirmed the EFL Championship playoff final will take place on Saturday May 27, 2023 at 4:45 p.m. local time in the UK.

Here's how that translates to major timezones across the world:

  Date Kickoff time
USA Sat, May 27 11:45 a.m. ET
Canada Sat, May 27 11:45 a.m. ET
UK Sat, May 27 4:45 p.m. BST
Australia Sun, May 28 1:45 a.m. AEST
India Sat, May 27 9:15 p.m. IST
Hong Kong Sat, May 27 11:45 p.m. HKT
Malaysia Sat, May 27 11:45 p.m. MYT
Singapore Sat, May 27 11:45 p.m. SGT
New Zealand Sun, May 28 3:45 a.m. NZST

EFL Championship playoffs final history

The EFL Championship playoff final has provided some thrilling battles over the years, with Crystal Palace establishing themselves as a playoff kings, with three Premier League promotions achieved since 1993 via a nail-biting Wembley win.

EFL Championship Playoff final results

Season Final Result (promoted side in bold)
1992/93 Swindon Town 4 Leicester City 2
1993/94 Leicester City 2 Derby County 1
1994/95 Bolton Wanderers 4 Reading 3
1995/96 Leicester City 2 Crystal Palace 1
1996/97 Crystal Palace 1 Sheffield United 0
1997/98 Charlton Athletic 4* Sunderland 4
1998/99 Watford 2 Bolton Wanderers 0
1999/00 Ipswich Town 4 Barnsley 2
2000/01 Bolton Wanderers 3 Preston North End 0
2001/02 Birmingham City 1** Norwich City 1
2002/03 Wolves 3 Sheffield United 0
2003/04 Crystal Palace 1 West Ham 0
2004/05 West Ham 1 Preston North End 0
2005/06 Watford 3 Leeds United 0
2006/07 Derby County 1 West Bromwich Albion 0
2007/08 Hull City 1 Bristol City 0
2008/09 Burnley 1 Sheffield United 0
2009/10 Blackpool 3 Cardiff City 2
2010/11 Swansea City 4 Reading 2
2011/12 West Ham 2 Blackpool 1
2012/13 Crystal Palace 1 Watford 0
2013/14 QPR 1 Derby County 0
2014/15 Norwich City 2 Middlesbrough 0
2015/16 Hull City 1 Sheffield Wednesday 0
2016/17 Huddersfield Town 0*** Reading 0
2017/18 Fulham 1 Aston Villa 0
2018/19 Aston Villa 2 Derby County 1
2019/20 Fulham 2 Brentford 1
2020/21 Brentford 2 Swansea City 0
2021/22 Nottingham Forest 1 Huddersfield Town 0
2022/23 TBC

*Charlton Athletic were promoted in the 1997/98 final via a 7-6 penalty shootout win over Sunderland.

**Birmingham City were promoted in the 2001/02 final via a 4-2 penalty shootout win over Norwich City.

*** Huddersfield Town were promoted in the 2016/17 final via a 4-3 penalty shootout win over Reading.

What's your reaction?



0 comment

Write the first comment for this!

Facebook Conversations

Disqus Conversations